Daily Devotion

Mark 6:3 “Isn’t this the carpenter, the son of Mary and the brother of James, Joseph, Judas, and Simon? Aren’t His sisters here with us as well?” And they took offense at Him. But Jesus said unto them, A prophet is not without honor, but in his own country, and among his own kin, and in his own house.

When I started my walk with God I was 20 years old, and was the only saved person in my mother’s single parent household. As I started to walk closer and closer with God, I noticed that I was walking farther and farther away from my mom (How can two walk together unless they be agreed? Amos 3:3). Soon, God had taken me through a period of separation from a lot of my old acquaintances, and brought me to a lot of new friends; friends that I could walk with. I began growing and growing, learning the “deep things” of God and gaining a lot of knowledge about the bible and wisdom from revelation but it would still gnaw at me, no matter how deep I went, that my mom couldn’t understand me now. Once I was sitting on my bed reading the bible and she said to me “Don’t you think you may be a little too obsessed with the bible, Jaylah?” That broke my heart. Too obsessed? What did that even mean? Then she said to my face “I’m worried about you. I think you’re too into this whole church thing. I think you’re just a little overwhelmed and I don’t want you to just give your money away to these people.” I wish I could tell you guys how irate I was as those words were spewing out of her mouth. How could she think that after all the things I had gone through to get to this point? How could she not see the difference in me since finding God? How does she not see what everyone else sees? How have I failed? I went through a quick and sudden downward spiral after that because of how personally I took her words, then I was reminded that we have a high priest who is able to empathize with our struggles because He too faced them all. Even JESUS could do no great works in his hometown BECAUSE OF THEIR UNBELIEF!!! How could I expect her to believe in me when she didn’t believe in the works of the Most High God?! The people of his town said to each other in doubt “Isn’t that JUST Joseph’s son? He ain’t nothing but a carpenter.” Little did they know that hidden Him was the key to all salvation and grace. In Him was the past, present, and future plans for all of creation. Little did they know that He was the expressed image of God the Father. None of these things could they see, all because they didn’t believe.

Don’t be discouraged when those closes to you aren’t in your corner. Don’t be discouraged when they still doubt you and see you as “just you”. You’re much more than that. Just continue to proclaim the good news and everything else will fall where it’s intended to.

Love Jay.

Leave a Reply

